This Week’s Meals

20 Aug

This is what’s on the menu for my family this week:

BREAKFAST
Pop Tarts (My Husband)
Eggo Waffles (My Husband)
Crunchy Raisin Bran & Frosted Flakes (Me)
Chocolate Milk (My Husband)

LUNCH
Turkey & Cheese Sandwiches (My Husband)
Leftovers (Me)
Bananas (Me)

DINNER
Friday: Spinach Salad // Cheesy Chicken Quesadillas // Mexican Rice
Saturday: Dinner at Birthday Party at Parents’ House
Sunday: Leftovers
Monday: Spinach Salad // Slow-Cooker BBQ Chicken // Pillsbury Breadsticks // Cheesy Rice & Broccoli
Tuesday: Spinach Salad // Easy Enchilada Casserole
Wednesday: Church Meal
Thursday: Leftovers

DESSERT
Peanut Butter Cocoa Ice Cream
Bakeless Cookies

BABY
Pureed Pear
Pureed Zucchini
Pureed Broccoli & Cheese

Breakfast and lunch are pretty easy at our house.  Because I work, I don’t have time to get up and make a hot breakfast every day.  But that’s okay, because my husband loves Pop Tarts and Eggo Waffles.  And this week they are on sale!  I am not a Pop Tart fan, but I do eat cereal every day.  I like to have one healthier kind and one sugary kind mixed together.  My husband also drinks Nesquik by the case, so that is always on the breakfast menu.

Lunch is simple for us, too.  My husband takes a sandwich and chips every day.  Now, don’t think this is because I don’t offer variety–he doesn’t have access to a refrigerator or microwave at work, so his lunch options are limited.  And he tends to eat on the go, which necessitates non-messy, portable foods.  I eat leftovers for lunch most days, because there are only two of us eating grown-up food and I hate to see food go to waste!

Dinner is obviously our most interesting of the day.  I love to cook, but most days I’m too worn out to whip up something that takes a lot of time and effort.  I tend to favor recipes that take under an hour and have few ingredients.  You’ll notice that we eat spinach salad most nights. Here’s why: it’s healthy, I don’t have to cook it, and Aldi always has it for $1.69 per bag.

And yes, we do plan our desserts out every week. :)

Got a comment?

