How to Coupon Without Being Extreme (Part 1)

24 Aug

I am what you might call a relaxed couponer.  I believe in using coupons—why pay full price if you don’t have to?  But I don’t have the time or effort (or desire) to be an extreme couponer.  After all, I work.  I have a family to care for and a house to clean.  I have interests besides creating a stockpile worthy of the Apocalypse.  But I do believe that anyone can use coupons effectively, save on their grocery bill, and not spend all their free time doing it.

I think one of the biggest obstacles to using coupons is the perception of the time it takes.  Don’t feel pressured to be coupon crazy.  Many people assume that if you coupon, you must spend all your time clipping and organizing, tote a five-gallon bag full of coupons on each grocery trip, be dreaded by all cashiers, and build a storage unit for the enormous stockpile of goods you buy.

Using coupons should not consume your life.  If it does, then it’s just not worth it.  Set a specified amount of time during the week to work with your coupons and stick to that.  I spend an hour or so clipping and organizing on Sunday evenings.  Setting a limit on my coupon time helps me stay on task with the rest of my household chores and also frees up time I can spend with my family.

For Part 2 of the series, click here.

4 Responses to “How to Coupon Without Being Extreme (Part 1)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to Coupon Without Being Extreme (Part 2) « Busy on a Budget - August 25, 2011

    […] is part 2 in a series about couponing. Click here to start with Part […]

  2. How to Coupon Without Being Extreme (Part 3) « Busy on a Budget - August 27, 2011

    […] is part 3 in a series about couponing. Click here to start at Part […]

  3. How to Coupon Without Being Extreme (Part 4) « Busy on a Budget - August 27, 2011

    […] is part 4 in a series on couponing.  Click here to start at Part […]

  4. Couponing Series « Busy on a Budget - September 29, 2011

    […] Part 1 – Time […]

Got a comment?

