How to Coupon Without Being Extreme (Part 3)

26 Aug

This is part 3 in a series about couponing. Click here to start at Part 1.

Part 2 of this series talked about being selective with your coupons.  Today we’ll discuss being selective with the deals you buy.

Realize that good deals happen all the time.  They are not so rare that you must buy every item available during the sale.  If you are diligent in organizing your coupons and matching them to your grocery list every week, you will find yourself building a small stockpile over time rather than all at once.  This will also help you stay within your grocery budget consistently.

For example, I get 50 cent coupons for toothpaste every so often.  I wait till toothpaste goes on sale for $1 at the grocery store and then use my coupon to get it for free (Kroger doubles coupons up to 60 cents).  Because I usually have only one toothpaste coupon at a time, I buy only one tube of toothpaste.  However, I currently have a stockpile of about 15 tubes of toothpaste that I have slowly built up over a year and a half.  I didn’t buy them all at once, but I don’t feel that I missed any opportunities or took away someone else’s chance to get a good deal.

It is more important to me to stay within my budget each week than to splurge to stock up on deals.  After I have planned our meals and added our needs to the grocery list, I use whatever leftover money we have to stock up on the week’s good deals.  But I aim to never go over our budget because good deals almost always happen again.

To read Part 4 in this series, click here.

2 Responses to “How to Coupon Without Being Extreme (Part 3)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to Coupon Without Being Extreme (Part 2) « Busy on a Budget - August 27, 2011

    […] read Part 3 in this series, click here. Share:PrintEmailMoreFacebookTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  2. Couponing Series « Busy on a Budget - September 29, 2011

    […] Part 3 – Deal Discernment Share:PrintEmailMoreFacebookTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Got a comment?

