Why I Chose Cloth Diapers

27 Aug

When I got pregnant with my first child, I knew we would have to be very strategic about the upcoming changes to our budget.  Some costs I couldn’t control–hospital bills, insurance costs–but others I could.  Diapers was one of those costs.  The more I researched cloth diapers, the more certain I felt that I could do it successfully.  Here’s why:

1)  Cost
Over time, cloth diapers will save us a lot of money that we would have spent on disposables.  My daughter’s entire set of cloth diapers and the accessories to go with it cost just over $200. The kind we got should last her from newborn until she is out of diapers. If you look at the current cost of disposable diapers, even when on sale, $200 wouldn’t last you very long.  I decided that a one-time investment of a few hundred was well worth it.

2) Better for Baby
While researching cloth diapers, I found out a lot about disposables that I didn’t want to know.  I won’t go into specifics here, but suffice it to say that the material cloth diapers are made out of are much easier on your baby’s skin.  Also, I have noticed that whenever my daughter does happen to wear disposables (for some outings), she is much more likely to develop diaper rash.  She has never gotten diaper rash while wearing cloth diapers.

3) Eco-Friendly
Newborns go through 10-12 diapers per day.  Just consider how many diapers you’ll throw away over the course of your child’s life in diapers.  That’s a lot of non-biodegradable material sitting in a landfill somewhere.  Cloth diapers eliminate that. Also, because cloth diapers are a one-time purchase, there’s less packaging being thrown away.

4) Not That Tough
A lot of people thought I was crazy for wanting to cloth diaper, but the more I researched the more I realized it wasn’t that hard.  Cloth diapers have really changed with the past few years.  They’ve become more user-friendly.  I wash and fold cloth diapers 2-3 times per week.  Sometimes, I don’t even fold them if I don’t have time.  That’s all the maintenance they require.  There’s really no extra time involved besides a few loads of laundry.

5) Online Support
Even though there aren’t many cloth diapering resources in Memphis, there is a plethora available online.  I knew that whatever problems I had, I could find answers.  I was also able to research so much ahead of time that I was prepared with all the right supplies by the time baby arrived.

6) I Could Get Out
One of the reassurances I had about trying cloth diapers was that I could always quit if it got too hard.  Sure, I’d be out some money, but at least I could go disposable if I needed to.  That emboldened me to try.

I would be dishonest if I said that I wasn’t nervous about using cloth diapers.  In fact, I waited until my baby was 2 weeks old before starting.  But once I began, I was amazed  by how easy it was.  In fact, I prefer them over disposables now.  This working mom’s sticking with cloth!

Got a comment?

