Utilizing the Lunch Break

20 Sep

As a working mom with a baby, my time to make dinner can get very limited in the evenings.  By the time I’ve gotten home, gotten situated, fed the little one and put her down for a nap, I’m often ready to just grab some fast food or a frozen pizza for my husband and me.

However, I don’t want limited time to keep me from cooking healthful, homemade meals for my family.  Although I may not accomplish this every night, my goal is to do it at least 4 nights out of the week.  In order to do this, though, I’ve had to become creative about using my time.

This week, I’ve been using my lunch break to do some dinner prep and cut down on the after-work time I spend cooking.  Yesterday, I browned ground beef during lunch.  Today, I baked chicken to use in tonight’s meal.  I spent just a little bit of my free time doing this, resulting in a reduced cooking time for dinner both nights.

This is one way I try to cut down on my cooking time during the week.  What shortcuts do you use to help keep your meal prep time manageable?

3 Responses to “Utilizing the Lunch Break”

  1. strivingJenn September 21, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    Great idea! I do this sometimes at night when I am watching a tv show, too- browning ground beef is a great multi-tasking job as long as you remember you are doing it!! :)

    Another tip I have snagged from other bloggers is to cut up extra veggies. If I am using 1/2 of an onion, it is almost as fast to cut up the rest of it and freeze it for the next time instead of bagging up 1/2 of an onion and letting it go bad in my fridge!! I have been able to take advantage of the “almost bad” bell peppers and onions at the grocery store this way, too!

    • busygirl10 September 21, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

      strivingJenn,

      Great idea about the veggies! I didn’t realize onion could be frozen (even if I had, I’m not sure I would have thought to freeze it anyway). Thanks for the tip!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Family Table: Double-Duty Meals « (mis)Adventures in Homemaking - September 27, 2011

    […] you like to do?  How can we streamline even more?  My friend over at Busy on a Budget shared her prep-ahead tip last week.  Head on over and check it out!! Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

Got a comment?

