Dinner Tonight – Barbecue Pork Chops

23 Sep

Tonight I made pork chops for the first time.  I couldn’t find a recipe that I had all the ingredients for (or wanted to buy all the ingredients for), so I chose to adapt one.  I was a little nervous about how it would turn out (some of my experiements have ended up not so tasty or pretty), but the chops ended up looking and tasting great!  Here’s how I put it together:

Ingredients:
3 Boneless Pork Chops
Basil
Oregano
Garlic Salt
Sweet Baby Ray’s Raspberry Vinaigrette BBQ Sauce

First, I heated my 10-inch cast-iron grill pan over medium-high heat.  While the pan was heating, I sprinkled a dash of basil, oregano and garlic salt over the chops.

Once the pan was heated, I cooked the chops for 6 minutes on each side.  While the second side was cooking, I basted the first side with the barbecue sauce.  Then I cooked that side for 6 minutes, basted the other side, and cooked the second side for 6 minutes.  So that’s 12 minutes for each side.  I think they could’ve taken another minute on each side, but they still turned out okay.

The pork chops tasted great–so juicy and flavorful.  They also looked fancy with the grill marks.

We enjoyed the chops with spinach salad, baked red potatoes, and cheesy bread.  Because the chops cook on the stove-top, you can bake the bread in the oven and the potatoes in the microwave at the same time.  This is a new quick-and-easy favorite for my family!

Got a comment?

